For Tamas

Being so starved and

without rest

today

but if you cut

my hair

in the patio

the birds will have

building materials

and they can begin to settle in.

you can’t stay to mend

the broken tiles

and I can’t stay

to cook you fish

or make you tea

or yell at you to clean your hair from the tub

or to come out from hiding

to at least have a toast, a coffee or cigarette.

and you can’t cut my hair

other days, but today you

can ask me about my family

and rub your hands over the shortened hairs

and pretend for a moment

that you are a sister

and I, a brother

and that we could

stay awhile

Leave a Reply

